must reads
Just another WordPress.com weblog

The lies we tell kids

Santa Claus, the Easter Bunny, and Tooth Fairy… why do we tell children these lies?  I never thought about it til I had a kid. 

When I was little, I was maybe 7 when I found out Santa wasn’t real.  My uncle usded to dress up as Santa & 1 year, I said who it really was.  I didn’t really care.  No skin off my back. Then instantly, I knew the tooth fairy & easter buny weren’t real.

Now I have a kid & I don’t feel like lying to him.  Not like that, cuz it’s not necessary. It could really upset or piss a kid off, I suppose even though I didn’t care. It’s not like kids are going to get any less if they know the truth.  But I’m just going with the flow, cuz everyone else says “santa this & santa that.”  So whatever.  I just wonder, why do we tell kids lies that are uncalled for?  It’s fine for some lie like”this shot won’t hurt a bit”, cuz that kind of thing is a necessity.

One Response to “The lies we tell kids”

  1. I let my son believe in Santa and all that, don’t know why though.I guess its just part of being a kid.


Leave a Reply

